Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Every state’s CNA exam has two parts: a written test (federal rules require states to offer an oral version as well) and a skills test in which you perform randomly chosen nurse aide tasks for an evaluator. You must pass both, and federal rules guarantee you at least three chances to pass. Each state picks its test vendor, most often Credentia, D&SDT-Headmaster or Prometric, so the number of questions, the time limit and the passing score differ. Find your state below.

Find CNA classes near you

The federal rules for the CNA exam

42 CFR 483.154 sets these rules for every state’s competency evaluation:

  • You choose between a written and an oral exam, and the questions are drawn from a pool so no two tests are the same.
  • The skills test uses randomly selected tasks from the work nurse aides do, including all the personal care skills you were trained in, in a lab or facility setting.
  • A registered nurse with at least a year of experience caring for elderly or chronically ill people evaluates the skills test.
  • The exam is given by the state or a state-approved organization, never by a Medicare or Medicaid nursing home itself.
  • If a nursing home employs you or has offered you a job when you start, you can’t be charged for the exam; if you’re hired within 12 months after it, the state must reimburse your costs.
  • If you fail, you’re told which areas you missed, and you get at least three tries. States may cap attempts, but not below three.
  • Once you pass, your result goes on the state registry within 30 days.

CNA exam by state

The vendor, written exam length, passing score, skills test and attempt limits in each state, from the state or its vendor’s candidate handbook (linked in the vendor column). Click a state for its full CNA guide.

State Test vendor Written exam Passing score Skills test Attempts
Alabama Credentia (NNAAP); ADPH guide also lists Prometric 70 questions, 2 hours Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must be performed correctly 3 attempts within 2 years (24 months) of training, then retrain
Alaska Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions (time not stated) Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must be satisfactory 3 attempts; pass within 12, 24 or 60 months depending on route
Arizona D&SDT-Headmaster 75 questions, 60 minutes 75% 3 or 4 tasks in 35 minutes Unlimited within 2 years of training; 45-day wait after third knowledge fail
Arkansas D&SDT-Headmaster 75 questions, 60 minutes 76% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes; all key steps and 80% of steps on each 3 attempts within 12 months of training, then retrain
California Set by program: D&SDT-Headmaster, Credentia, or Regional Testing Center Headmaster: 75 questions, 60 minutes; Credentia: 70 questions (time not stated) 75% (Headmaster); Credentia not stated Headmaster: 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes; Credentia: 5 skills in 30 minutes Headmaster: 3 attempts within 2 years; Credentia: retrain after 3 failures
Colorado Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions (time not stated) Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must be satisfactory 3 attempts; pass within two years of application; E3/E4 routes get one attempt
Connecticut Prometric Not stated Not stated five of the 25 competency skills; must pass all five Unlimited within 24 months of training
Delaware Prometric 60 questions, 90 minutes Not stated Five scored skills in 31 to 40 minutes; must pass all five Three attempts within 24 months of training, then retrain
Florida Prometric 60 questions, 90 minutes Not stated 5 skills (time not stated); recent program grads take written only 3 attempts, then an approved training program is required
Georgia Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions (time not stated) Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must be satisfactory 3 attempts; new aides (E1/E1-A) must pass within 12 months of graduation
Hawaii Prometric 60 questions, 90 minutes 70% Five scored skills in 31 to 40 minutes; must pass all five Three attempts within two years of first test date, then retrain
Idaho Prometric (written); skills evaluated through the training program 60 questions, 90 minutes Not stated Manual Skills evaluation via training program (details not stated) Three attempts per exam, then repeat approved training
Illinois SIUC Nurse Aide Testing (INACE) for IDPH Question count not stated; computer exam scored after 90 minutes Pass/fail; cut score not released No state skills test; skills checked within the training program Three attempts within 12 months of completion, then retake BNATP
Indiana Ivy Tech Community College (for IDOH) 100 questions (time not stated) 80 correct answers (80%) Hand hygiene, initial/final steps, plus four random skills Up to four attempts per test within two years
Iowa D&SDT-Headmaster (written); skills at community colleges or Health Tech Associates 70 questions, 60 minutes 70% Skills demonstration, 70% to pass (tasks and time not stated) Three per part; after three failures retake 75-hour course; pass within four months of hire
Kansas KDADS state test at KDADS test sites (no outside vendor named) 100 questions, two hours 75% No state skills exam; skills checked in the course via task checklists Three attempts within 12 months of course start, then retake course
Kentucky KCTCS (D&SDT-Headmaster TMU platform) 75 questions, 2-hour limit 70% 5 skills (3 in a scenario, 2 on their own) at 70% accuracy Three chances; within four months of employment or one year of training
Louisiana Prometric or LCTCS college sites (both LDH-approved) 60 questions, 90 minutes (Prometric) Not stated Five skills scored (three assigned plus handwashing, indirect care); pass all five Three attempts per test within 12 months of training, then retrain
Maine Not stated (no testing company named in official sources) Written or oral exam (questions and time not stated) Not stated Skills from the MSBON curriculum checklist (number and time not stated) No more than three attempts within 2 years of training
Maryland Credentia (NNAAP) or D&SDT-Headmaster (both MBON-approved) 70 questions; Headmaster 60 minutes (Credentia time not stated) Headmaster 73%; Credentia not stated Credentia: 5 skills, 30 minutes; Headmaster: three or four tasks, 30 minutes 4 attempts within 24 months of training; wait 45 days between attempts
Massachusetts D&SDT-Headmaster 60 questions, 60 minutes 76% 3 or 4 tasks in 40 minutes 4 knowledge and 3 skills attempts, then a new approved training program
Michigan D&SDT-Headmaster 65 questions, maximum 60 minutes 74% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes 3 attempts within 24 months of training; then retrain
Minnesota D&SDT-Headmaster 70 questions, 2 hours 74% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes 4 knowledge and 3 skills attempts within 24 months of training
Mississippi D&SDT-Headmaster 70 questions, 60 minutes 73% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes 3 attempts within 24 months of training; then new program
Missouri D&SDT-Headmaster 75 questions, 60 minutes 80% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes; all assigned tasks must pass 3 attempts (retake twice within 90 days); test within one year of training start
Montana D&SDT-Headmaster 72 questions, maximum 90 minutes 75% 3 or 4 tasks, maximum 35 minutes 3 attempts within 6 months of training; then training expires
Nebraska Not stated (DHHS names no single vendor) 50 questions (time not stated) 70% six skills; 70% or greater on each Three opportunities per exam; then retake the 75-hour course
Nevada D&SDT-Headmaster 75 questions, max 60 minutes 80% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes 3 attempts within 1 year of training; retrain after 3 failures
New Hampshire Excel Testing 60 questions, maximum 90 minutes 70% four skills in 30 minutes, fully performed Not stated (no cap found in guide or Board rules)
New Jersey PSI (written/oral) + D&SDT-Headmaster (skills) 60 questions, 90 minutes 75% Hand washing + 4 random tasks; 80% on each, no key steps missed 3 attempts at each part; then retrain
New Mexico D&SDT-Headmaster 60 questions, 60 minutes 74% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes 3 attempts within 24 months of training; then new approved program
New York Prometric 60 questions, 90 minutes Not stated Five skills (three assigned plus Handwashing, Indirect Care), 31 to 40 minutes Three attempts per exam; pass within two years of training
North Carolina Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions, 2 hours Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes, incl. hand hygiene and a measurement Pass within 2 years of training or 3 attempts, whichever first
North Dakota D&SDT-Headmaster 72 questions, 90 minutes 75% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes 3 attempts from training completion; then retrain
Ohio D&SDT-Headmaster 79 questions, 90 minutes 70% 3 or 4 tasks in 35 minutes 3 attempts within 2 years of training; then new approved program
Oklahoma CareerTech Testing Center or D&SDT-Headmaster CareerTech: 70 questions, 120 minutes; Headmaster: 72 questions, 90 minutes 70% CareerTech: 7 skills in 75 minutes (incl. instructions); Headmaster: 5 tasks in 45 minutes 3 attempts within 3 years of training (both vendors)
Oregon D&SDT-Headmaster 80 questions, 90 minutes 73% 3 or 4 tasks in 35 minutes Unlimited attempts; no set timeframe for initial applicants
Pennsylvania Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions, 2 hours Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must pass Three attempts; pass within two years of training or retrain
Rhode Island Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions, 2 hours Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must pass 3 opportunities; pass within 1 year of starting training
South Carolina Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions, 2 hours Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must pass 3 attempts or 2 years from training, whichever comes first
South Dakota D&SDT-Headmaster (knowledge exam); skills by program RN evaluators 80 questions, 60 minutes 75% 4 skills from a Board pool of 22, rated by an RN Skills Evaluator First attempt plus 2 retakes; test within 2 years of training
Tennessee Credentia (NNAAP), vendor since June 1, 2026 (previously D&SDT-Headmaster) 75 questions, 2 hours 75% 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must be passed 3 attempts per part within 24 months of training; then retrain
Texas Prometric Written or written/oral exam (questions and time not stated) Not stated Not stated Three attempts (may retest twice); then retrain
Utah D&SDT-Headmaster (TMU); exam developed by UNAR 75 questions, up to 2 hours 75% 5 skills in 45 minutes; 80% per skill incl. 100% of key steps 3 attempts per exam within 1 year of training; then repeat a NATCEP
Vermont Excel Testing 60 questions, 90 minutes 70% Four skills in 30 minutes Three attempts; then repeat an approved education program
Virginia Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions (time not stated) Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes; all 5 must be passed 3 attempts within 24 months of training; then retrain
Washington Credentia (NNAAP) 70 questions, 2 hours Not stated In-person skills test via program or WABON (skills and time not stated) 4 attempts per part, no time limit; then retrain
West Virginia Professional Healthcare Development (PHD) 100 questions, 90 minutes Not stated 5 skills in 30 minutes 3 attempts within 24 months of training; then retrain
Wisconsin D&SDT-Headmaster 75 questions, 60 minutes 71% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes; all key steps and 80% of non-key steps Pass both within 1 year of training; failed part retaken as many times as needed
Wyoming D&SDT-Headmaster 60 questions, 60 minutes 76% 3 or 4 tasks in 30 minutes; all key steps and 80% of non-key steps 5 attempts within 2 years of graduation; then retrain

Notes on specific states (where official sources disagree or a detail could not be confirmed):

  • Alabama: An undated ADPH guide also lists Prometric as a test vendor; Prometric's role in Alabama couldn't be confirmed.
  • Arkansas: Arkansas rule 20 CAR 403-502 says five skills tasks; the July 2026 Headmaster handbook says 3 or 4.
  • California: Exam details for the Regional Testing Center option couldn't be confirmed from an official source.
  • Colorado: Credentia's Colorado page says 'within twelve (24) months' to pass; the state rule says two years.
  • Connecticut: Prometric's Connecticut exam details (question count, time limit, passing score, oral option) couldn't be confirmed.
  • Delaware: Exam details come from a 2018 Prometric bulletin; current question counts and times couldn't be confirmed.
  • Hawaii: Exam details come from an older Prometric bulletin (2017); current question counts and times couldn't be confirmed.
  • Idaho: Prometric's older Idaho bulletin gives 6- and 12-month testing windows; the IDHW page says one year.
  • Illinois: The 90-minute time limit comes from a 2018 SIUC sheet and couldn't be confirmed as current.
  • Indiana: An older, undated IDOH page allows 3 attempts; current IDOH pages allow up to four.
  • Kentucky: Kentucky's rule lets trainees choose an oral exam; the 2026 testing manual limits it to documented literacy needs.
  • Louisiana: Exam details are from Prometric's bulletin; the format at LCTCS college test sites couldn't be confirmed.
  • Maine: No official Maine source names the testing company or gives the written exam's length, time limit or passing score.
  • Maryland: Maryland published pending changes to these rules on Nov. 9, 2026; the exam rules shown may change.
  • Massachusetts: DPH says revised CNA exams are expected in early 2027.
  • Mississippi: The MSDH page still calls the test the NNAAP exam; the current candidate handbook is D&SDT-Headmaster's.
  • Nebraska: Nebraska DHHS names no single testing vendor and gives no exam time limit.
  • New Hampshire: The Excel Testing guide says four skills; Board rule Nur 702.02 says at least 5 activities.
  • Pennsylvania: Pennsylvania's testing page describes the oral exam two ways: 60 + 10 questions, and an older 50-question cassette version.
  • Rhode Island: A 2023 rule change opened testing to other vendors; only Credentia could be confirmed.
  • Texas: Texas exam format (questions, time, passing score, skills) couldn't be confirmed; HHSC's 'written/oral' wording implies an oral option.
  • Vermont: Vermont OPR links to Excel Testing, but its February 2026 instructions refer to the NNAAP exam.
  • Washington: The DSHS registry page still names Pearson VUE; Credentia's handbook says DSHS contracts with Credentia.
  • Wisconsin: A new Headmaster candidate handbook takes effect December 1, 2026; the table reflects the edition it replaces.
Find CNA classes near you

How to prepare

Start with your state’s candidate handbook, linked in the table: it lists the skills that can be tested, the steps the evaluator checks, what to bring and how to schedule. Your training program prepares you for both parts, and most handbooks explain how retakes work if you miss one part.

More CNA guides

Sources

Last reviewed November 2026.